The BROWNS English Language School Curricula are based on the internationally recognised and respected Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF).

What is the CEF?

The CEF is a guideline created by the Council of Europe which grades language proficiency in any language. It is the official means of describing learner achievements in schools, universities and language institutes across Europe.

What are the CEF levels?

The CEF provides six reference levels from A1 to C2, breaking down language ability in terms of reading, listening, speaking and writing at each level.

CEFR Level CEFR Descriptor English Level
C2 Mastery Advanced
C1 Effective Operational Proficiency Upper-Intermediate
B2 Vantage Intermediate
B1 Threshold Pre-Intermediate
A2 Waystage Elementary
A1 Breakthrough Beginner

BROWNS level system is designed in line with the CEF levels.

Using the CEF to map a student's learning journey

The Association of Language Testers in Europe, otherwise known as ALTE, took the CEF even further, creating a simplified set of 400+ descriptors for language examinations which relate to the Common Reference Levels. These descriptors are in the form of "can-do statements", each saying more simply what a learner can do at every level. These descriptors form the core of BROWNS Intensive General English syllabus.

Our Course Books

New English File was chosen as the CORE course book for BROWNS Intensive General English core class curriculum because of its compatibility with the CEF.